Helpline PH

Your one-stop resource for government services in the Philippines

DepEd Announces Official List of Schools for Matatag Curriculum Pilot Run

DepEd Announces Official List of Schools for Matatag Curriculum Pilot Run

The Department of Education (DepEd) has officially unveiled the list of schools selected for the pilot implementation of the groundbreaking Matatag Curriculum. This announcement came on Sunday and has garnered attention from educational stakeholders across the Philippines.

Participating Schools Across Seven Regions

DepEd revealed that a total of 35 schools will participate in the pilot run of the Matatag Curriculum. These schools are evenly distributed across seven key regions: the National Capital Region, Cordillera Administrative Region, Regions 1, 2, 7, 12, and Caraga.

What is the Matatag Curriculum?

Launched on August 10, the Matatag Curriculum is a revised K to 10 educational program. It aims to streamline learning by focusing on five core skills:

  • Language proficiency
  • Reading and literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Makabansa (Nationalism)
  • Good manners and right conduct (GMRC)

Pilot Run Scheduled for September 25

DepEd has scheduled the pilot run of the Matatag Curriculum to commence on September 25. This initiative is part of the department’s broader strategy to enhance the quality of education in the country.

Curriculum Decongestion and Future Plans

Jocelyn D.R. Andaya, the Director of DepEd’s Bureau of Curriculum Development, stated, “We have decongested the curriculum by 70 percent. This allows us to focus on essential skills like literacy and numeracy, thereby reducing overcrowding and enhancing the learning experience.”

DepEd has also outlined a phased implementation plan for the Matatag Curriculum, which will be rolled out in stages from 2024 to 2028.